Pohjoismaiset kansanedustajat kirjoittivat WHO:n pääjohtajalle kirjeen abortista

Kansanedustajat ja europarlamentaarikot Suomesta, Ruotsista, Norjasta ja Tanskasta kirjoittivat WHO:n pääjohtajalle Dr Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesusille kirjeen, jossa he kiittävät WHO:n uudesta aborttihoidon linjauksesta. Kansanedustajat esittävät myös huolensa aborttilainsäädäntöä tiukentavista aloitteista esimerkiksi Yhdysvalloissa. Suomesta kirjeen allekirjoitti 18 kansanedustajaa ja 4 europarlamentaarikkoa.

Kirje WHO:n pääjohtajalle

Dear Dr Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus

We, members of the cross-party parliamentary groups for Sexual and Reproductive Health and Rights (SRHR) in Sweden, Norway, Denmark and Finland write to you today to express our gratitude and appreciation of the important work that the WHO is undertaking to make safe abortion available to all women and girls. In particular, we would like to thank you and the WHO for the development of the new safe abortion care guidelines that were released earlier this spring.

We know that women and girls risk their lives and their health when abortions are performed in illegal and unsafe ways. The vast majority of the estimated 25 million unsafe abortions that are performed annually, take place in poor parts of the world. We have known for a long time that a large proportion of those who die from unsafe abortions live in low- and middle-income countries. The global death toll is estimated at around 23,000 a year. Many more are injured and suffer life-threatening consequences as a result of unsafe abortions.

Given the WHO’s influence, we expect the guidelines to contribute to changing this deeply unjust and unfair situation. The guidelines will contribute to more abortions being carried out using a safe method, appropriate to the duration of the pregnancy and assisted by someone with the necessary information and skills. They will contribute to safer procedures, protect the health of women and girls and prevent deaths caused by unsafe abortions.

We also want to express that we are deeply concerned about the domestic developments related to the constitutional right to safe abortion in the U.S. and the domino-effects a negative decision in the Supreme Court may have on access to safe abortion in other parts of the world. There will always be women and girls who wish to end their pregnancy for a number of different reasons. Strict abortion laws do not change this reality. As a result, there is a very high risk that they will be performed in unsafe ways.

Dear Dr. Tedros. We believe in the right of every individual to make decisions about their own body, life and future. We stand behind you and the WHO’s efforts to increase access to safe abortion and protect sexual and reproductive rights globally. We salute your commitment to support countries to implement the new guidelines and strengthen national programs related to contraception, family planning and abortion services. We promise to do everything we can to ensure that access to safe abortion remains on the Nordic, European and international agenda.

Yours sincerely

The Finnish Parliament:

Adlercreutz Anders, Swedish People’s Party of Finland

Biaudet Eva, Swedish People’s Party of Finland

Forsgrén Bella, The Greens

Hassi Satu, The Greens

Hautala Heidi, The Greens / EFA Group

Honkasalo Veronika, The Left Alliance

Hopsu Inka, The Greens

Hyrkkö Saara, The Greens

Järvinen Heli, The Greens

Kalli Eeva, The Centre Party of Finland

Kivelä Mai, The Left Alliance

Kumpula-Natri Miapetra, Group of the Progressive Alliance of Socialists and Democrats in the European Parliament

Kosonen Hanna, The Centre Party of Finland

Kyllönen Merja, The Left Alliance

Modig Silvia, The Left group in the European Parliament

Pekonen Aino-Kaisa, The Left Alliance

Pietikäinen Sirpa, Group of the European People’s Party

Salonen Kristiina, The Finnish Social Democratic Party

Siren Saara-Sofia, The National Coalition Party

Soinikoski Mirka, The Greens

Suomela Iiris, The Greens

Virta Sofia, The Greens

The Swedish Parliament:

Diana Laitinen Carlsson, the Social Democrats, President of the Swedish cross-party group for SRHR

Helena Storckenfeldt, the Moderate party, Vice President

Annika Qarlsson, the Center Party

Ola Johansson, the Center Party

Yasmine Posio, the Left Party

Karin Rågsjö, the Left Party

Gudrun Brunegård, the Christian Democrats

Sofia Damm, the Christian Democrats

Juno Blom, the Liberals

Camilla Hansén, the Green Party

Sofia Amloh, the Social Democrats

The Norwegian Parliament:

Lisa Marie Ness Klungland, Centre party

Kamzy Gunaratnam, Social Democrats (S&D)

Lubna Boby Jaffery, Social Democrats (S&D)

Marian Hussein, Left Socialists (GUE/NGL)

Andreas Sjalg Unneland, Left Socialists (GUE/NGL)

Ingrid Fiskaa, Left Socialists (GUE/NGL)

Kathy Lie, Left Socialists (GUE/NGL)

Freddy Øvstegård, Left Socialists (GUE/NGL)

Kari Elisabeth Kaski, Left Socialists (GUE/NGL)

Sandra Bruflot, Conservative party (EPP)

Heidi Norby Lunde, Conservative party (EPP)

Ingvild Thorsvik, Liberal Party (Renew)

On behalf of the Danish All party Parliamentary Group on SRHR

Karen Ellemann, Member of parliament, Liberal Party, Chair                                      

Mette Gjerskov, Member of parliament, Social Democratic Party, Vice Chair



Täytä tietosi alle tai klikkaa kuvaketta kirjautuaksesi sisään:


Olet kommentoimassa WordPress.com -tilin nimissä. Log Out /  Muuta )


Olet kommentoimassa Twitter -tilin nimissä. Log Out /  Muuta )


Olet kommentoimassa Facebook -tilin nimissä. Log Out /  Muuta )

Muodostetaan yhteyttä palveluun %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.